tip: preserving mint

preserving mint

Like I mentioned in my previous post, I love all things mint.
I wish I had a balcony where I can plant my own mint, but I don’t. I’m also sick of battling fruit flies so I do not wish to have a plant indoors either. So the next best thing was for me to preserve store-bought raw herbs for as long as possible.
This is a trick I got from a Japanese recipe site, which showed how to preserve shiso leaves. It works for mint too.

1. Get a short glass/bowl and pour around 1/2 in. of water.
2. Place mint so the bottom of the stems are touching the water.
3. Put the whole thing in a ziplock bag and store it in the fridge.

This helps the mint last for 1-2 weeks without it drying or changing color. Mine’s been there for more than 2 weeks now and they’re still bright green, but make sure to change water once in a while!

Leave a comment

Filed under home bar, kitchen, tips

Leave a comment